RocketHub Launches my Project

14 11 2012

Black abalone on San Nicolas Island (B. Blaud)

I have definitely over-used this word lately, but in my overwhelming job to be a part of such a fun way to raise money, I can’t think of any more appropriate vocabulary, so I will keep using the word.  I am EXCITED!!!  SciFund has helped me become organized in the crowfunding world, and through RocketHub, I have launched a fundraising campaign, the Black Abalone Dating Service.  My goal is to raise $2500, and to help people understand what I’m trying to accomplish and what the money will be used for, I put together a short description and video.

 

Black Abalone Dating Service

Are you a lonely black abalone, seeking a nearby abalone of the opposite sex to spawn near and reproduce with?  If that’s the case, you’re not alone!

There were once so many black abalones in California that this intertidal sea snail was stacked 6-deep in the open, so finding a mate wasn’t hard.  After a disease culled them to a fraction of their original numbers, they are now more cryptic and located much further from potential mates.

Black abalones are broadcast spawners, meaning they release their eggs or sperm directly into the water in a Hail Mary attempt to reproduce, hoping they are close enough for their gametes to mix and the eggs to fertilize.  But the question is: how close is close enough?

 Fundraising Target: $2,500

Because black abalones are an endangered species and we have not been able to successfully spawn them in laboratory settings, we use small particles as surrogates for black abalone sperm and eggs in our experiments.  We release these particles in the intertidal and collect water samples to measure the concentration of sperm and eggs over distance and time.  The cost of the particles for each experimental run is approximately $2,500.  We aim to raise enough to fund one run in the hopes of finding out how close two abalones have to be in order to successfully reproduce.   Any money we receive over our fundraising target will go to funding further experimental runs to see how different variables affect the necessary proximity two abalone must be in to successfully reproduce.

 

You can view the video through the SciFund link at: http://www.rockethub.com/projects/11912-black-abalone-dating-service

 

I literally check the website 10 times a day to see if anyone has contributed, and to show that I believe in myself and my project, I was the first to fuel it with a donation.  Any help is appreciated, seriously appreciated.  So go check out the link, and open your wallets!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

