Project: Funded!

17 12 2012

After 33 days of nail biting, annoying spamming all my dear friends and family, and cajoling strangers into coughing up their hard-earned dough, my crowfunding experience has come to a close.  Although I didn’t quite reach my goal of $2,500, making $1,990 is nothing to cry about.  I am in awe of everyone’s generosity!  I couldn’t have asked for a better experience.

 

Black abalone on San Nicolas Island (B. Blaud)

Black abalone on San Nicolas Island (B. Blaud)

What next, you ask?  First off, I’m going to stop slacking on my blogging responsibilities.  I apologize.  Sometimes, when I have a lot going on in my life, I have to drop one or two balls that I’m juggling or else I risk them all falling and hitting me on the head.  I have had enough bruises from past experiences to learn that lesson the hard way.  So while I haven’t been updating you as diligently as promised, I have been busy, getting new material for posts and always, always, always working on my project.

 

Second, I’m going to spend my money!  I love shopping!!!  But my RocketHub funds will be responsibly spent on small, white particles the size of abalone sperm.  I just got back from SNI, where I had an amazing trip and completed a successful extended run, and hope to repeat that experience with particles I purchase using what you all generously donated.

 

Third, I’m going to put my spawning practices to use by releasing live gametes in tide pools and find out how realistic my project design is.  And then… a lot of data analysis and writing.  That’s when all the free coffee I get at work at Starbucks will really come in handy, because sleep will become an expensive luxury.

 

So, while this quick update has been short and sweet, I wanted to get a HUGE THANK YOU out there to all my incredible funders.  Seriously, thank you.thankyou

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 12 2012
halejessie

My new favorite black abalone pic!

20 12 2012
bblaud

You are too sweet! I am so excited for you to come out to the island and help out on my experiments. We are going to have so much fun!!!

20 12 2012
halejessie

Me too!!! Waiting to get my paperwork 🙂 Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

